Galway Hurling Team 1920

Oughterard Newsletter October 2012

The picture is of the Galway team who played Dublin in Croke Park a week after Bloody Sunday.

Back Row: Jim Power, Mick Kenny (Captain), Paddy O’Connor, Padraig Naughton, Ignatius Harney, Bernie Gibbs, James Shaugnessy.

Front Row: Andy Kelly, ‘Carb Fahy’, Tom Cogavan, Dick Morrissey, Frank Fallon, Martin Mc Glynn, Mick Finn, John Mahony, Stephan Jordan.

The GAA were not to be intimidated by the actions of the British forces the previous Sunday and Galway accepted Dublin’s invitation to play a game at headquarters to defy curfew and martial law. 

Dara and James Lowry of Scoil Chuimin agus Caitríona are the great grandsons of Tom Cogavin who played on the first Galway team to win the All Ireland for Galway.




This page was added on 07/12/2012.

No Comments

Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this page!

Add a comment about this page

Your email address will not be published.